To this day, many still call it the 'Produce Building'

Chester. Clifton Patrick, the town of Chester historian, submitted historical photos and some fascinating background along with his (correct, of course) Where in Chester? answer this week. Read on to find out more about the building that is now Barry Adleman’s Outdoors Store at 6 Howland Street.

| 13 Nov 2019 | 07:18

This building replaced the Howland House Hotel, which burned to the ground Saturday morning, December 6, 1915.

Initially it was the warehouse of Chester Produce Growers Association, Chester, N.Y., circa 1920 postcard show it with fleet of five motor-trucks lined up in front of the warehouse.

Being one of the largest buildings in the Village from the 1920s into the 1950s, it hosted many meetings, dances, wedding receptions, Newburgh Y.M.C.A. classes and the Hamble­tonians basketball team played on the Produce Hall court.

On December 30, 1934, Frank Grasso called a meeting at the Produce building for the purpose of organizing an Italian-American Club. Thirty members were present and the Club was organized.

In the 1950s, it was the Chester Mfg Co. owned by Ed Hockberg and Freda Cavallaro. They employed many local people manufacturing coats and children’s clothing. Circa 1953 photographs show the sewing room and staff.

Barry opened his “Wearhouse Outlet Imports Inc.” business in 1975, changing the name to “Outdoors” in 1978.

To this day, many continue to refer to it as the “Produce Building.”