Sugar Loaf. Assemblyman Schmitt announces 2021 Women of Distinction nominees

| 10 May 2021 | 07:06

Assemblyman Colin J. Schmitt announced this week the list of 17 honorees for the second annual 99th Assembly District Women of Distinction ceremony.

These honorees will be formally honored at an event to be held on Monday, May 17, at the Sugar Loaf Performing Arts Center, 1351 Kings Highway, Sugar Loaf, at 6:30 p.m.

Local leaders from each municipality in the 99th Assembly District were asked to nominate one woman who has made a positive impact on their community and is worthy of this official recognition.

The nominees are women who seek to impact their community for the greater good and are known for their diligence and conscientious effort to make meaningful improvements to their communities through civic, religious, educational or other community-based efforts.

The honorees and the communities they live in within the 99th Assembly District are:

Town of Blooming Grove: Dotty Murphy

Village of South Blooming Grove: Patricia Morrice

Village of Washingtonville: Celina Rofer

Town of Chester: Sharon Conklin

Village of Chester: Michelle Deshler

Village of Cornwall-On-Hudson: Jeanne Mahoney

Town of Goshen: Ann Daly

Village of Goshen: Marcia Matheus

Town of Hamptonburgh: Lori Stevens

Town of Highlands: Mabel Galu, posthumously

Village of Highland Falls: Linda Green

Town of New Windsor: Susan Scheible

Town of Stony Point: Christine Silverstein

Town of Wawayanda: Teresa Piece

Town of Woodbury: Maria Hunter

Village of Woodbury: Desiree Potvin

District-wide: County Clerk Annie Rabbitt

“This past year has been incredibly difficult for all of us,” Schmitt said in the press release announcing the honorees. “This evening of celebration of these nominees is a perfect way to focus on the positives and resiliency of our district.”