Bloomfield wins eighth term for Goshen supervisor

Goshen. The Republican incumbent defeats Democratic challenger for supervisor. Democratic challenger Phil Canterino and Republican newcomer Richard Florio win seats on the town board, squeezing out Republican incumbent John VanDerMolen Jr.

05 Nov 2019 | 09:19

Doug Bloomfield won his eighth bid for Goshen town supervisor on Tuesday, beating his Democratic challenger, Ken Newbold, 1,337 to 1,187.

Newbold, a town councilman, has served on the board for decades.

Democrat Phil Canterino won one of two open seats on the board, where he had served in the past, with 1,316 votes. Republican Richard D. Florio Jr., a newcomer, won the other seat with 1,216 votes.

They beat town board candidates John VanDerMolen Jr., the Republican incumbent, who won 1,104 votes; and newcomer Zachary Constantine, a Democrat, who won 1,149 votes.

The top vote-getter in the Town of Goshen Tuesday was Republican incumbent Priscilla Gersbeck, who won re-election to the town clerk's position with 1,809 votes. She ran unopposed.

Two other Republican incumbents ran unopposed: town justice Rory Brady, who won 1,771 votes; and highway supervisor P. Broderick Knoell, who won 1,793 votes.

Winner: Douglas Bloomfield (Rep/Con/Ind), incumbent: 1,337
Kenneth Newbold Sr. (Dem/Wor): 1,187
Town board:
Winner: Philip J. Canterino (Dem/Con/Wor/Ind): 1,316
Winner: Richard D. Florio Jr. (Rep/Con/Ind): 1,216
Zachary M. Constantine (Dem/Wor): 1,149
John VanDerMolen Jr. (Rep), incumbent: 1,104
Highway supervisor (unopposed):
Winner: P. Broderick Knoell (Rep/Con/Ind), incumbent: 1,793
Town justice (unopposed):
Winner: Rory K. Brady (Rep/Ind), incumbent: 1,771
Town clerk (unopposed):
Winner: Priscilla M. Gersbeck (Rep/Con/Ind), incumbent: 1,809